Faculty of Arts and Humanities
The Faculty Directorate

The Faculty Directorate

The Faculty Directorate is the decision-making authority of the Faculty. Its members are the Dean, Vice-Dean and Dean of Studies. The period of office for the Dean and Vice-Dean is two years, whereas the Dean of Studies is elected for a period of three years. The responsibilities of the Faculty Directorate are detailed in art. 28 to 30 of the Bavarian Higher Education Act (BayHschG), as amended on 23 May 2006.

The Dean

Prof. Dr. Karsten Fitz
Prof. Dr. Karsten Fitz
Raum PHIL 274
Innstraße 25
Tel.: +49(0)851/509-2848
Fax: +49(0)851/509-2792
Sprechzeiten: Dienstag, 12-13:30. Anmeldung auf der Liste an der Tür PHIL 272 erforderlich! Sprechzeiten in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit bzw. Abweichungen von der regulären Sprechzeit siehe Aktuelles.

The Dean represents the faculty, implements the resolutions of the Faculty Board and takes certain decisions on behalf of the Faculty.

The Vice Dean

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Stahl
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Stahl
Raum HK14b 324
Tel.: +49(0)851/509-2845
Sprechzeiten: Termin bitte in stud.ip eintragen.

The Vice-Dean acts on behalf of the Dean when necessary.

The Dean of Studies

Prof. Dr. Christian Thies
Prof. Dr. Christian Thies
Raum NK 422
Innstraße 40
Tel.: +49(0)851/509-2620
Fax: +49(0)851/509-2622
Sprechzeiten: Während den Vorlesungszeiten mittwochs von 12.00 - 13.00 Uhr! Info Feriensprechzeiten im Sekretariat!

The Dean of Studies is responsible for teaching and study at the faculty, ensuring that the courses and programmes offered are in line with the study and examination regulations, that the degree programmes can be successfully completed within the standard period of study and that the students receive adequate support. The Dean of Studies has overall responsibility for teaching evaluations, including those from students. (Art. 30 (2) Nos. 1 and 2 BayHSchG).