Chair of Digital Humanities
ViSIT

ViSIT

ViSIT - virtual museum for Passau and Kufstein

ViSIT - virtual museum for Passau and Kufstein
ViSIT - virtual museum for Passau and Kufstein
ViSIT - virtual museum for Passau and Kufstein
ViSIT, a programme funded by the EFRE within the project Interreg Bayern-Österreich 2014 - 2020, uses the digital structural transformation for an enhanced valorization of our cultural heritage: The Passauer Veste Oberhaus and the Festung Kufstein are the two exponants of castles and residences in the Inn-Salzach-Donau region that will be developed for visitors by using multimedia installations and a virtual compound system -further locations like Golling, Salzburg, Tittmoning and Burghausen will likewise be integrated.

Border-crossing Cultural Region Inn-Salzach-Donau

This project is going to make those castle complexes, as witnesses of a mutual, border-crossing history, come alive for their visitors in an innovative way, thus developing wider audiences at all locations. Among those architectual sights, the museal collections will be integrated as well, constituting important reference collections for the historico-cultural connected area shaped by Bavaria, Austria/Tirol and the Prince-Bishoprics Salzburg and Passau. The museums are working together with academic partners from the fields of cultural studies and computer science, to create a transboundary digital infrastructure for an innovative presentation and safeguarding of this cultural heritage.

Making the Cultural Area Come Alive Together

The historic watch tower of the Veste Oberhaus and the "kaiser-/fox tower" of the Festung Kufstein will be converted into exemplary multimedial places of experience: visitors (locals and tourists) will be offered possibilities of information and interaction about other castle complexes across locations in the Inn-Salzach-Donau area. That way, the visitors' attention will be drawn towards other castles/palaces as attractive destinations as well.

Virtual Museum and Multimedia Place of Experience

Contents across locations will be created for the other participating museums at the other locations (as associated partners, see appendix), to create a compound system of related offers as a border-crossing “Virtual Museum.” Transferable software frameworks (Open Source) and "Best Practices" (published digitally) will allow to expand the compound in the future.

Project Consortium

Museum Partners

  • Museum und Veste Oberhaus, Stadt Passau (D) 
  • Festung Kufstein, Top-City-Kufstein, Gesellschaft für Kultur-, Freizeit- und Stadtmarketing mbH, Kufstein (A) 




Principal Investigator(s) at the University Prof. Dr. Malte Rehbein (Lehrstuhl für Digital Humanities)
Project period 01.10.16 - 30.09.19
Source of funding
Logo of source of fundingEuropäische Union (EU) > EU - Europäischer Struktur- und Investitionsfonds (ESI-Fonds) 2014-2020 > EU - Europäischer Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) 2014-2020 > EU - ESIF - EFRE - INTERREG Österreich-Bayern 2014-2020

Areas Humanities


return to previous page

Lehrstuhl für Digital Humanities
Virtuelle Verbund-Systeme und Informations-Technologien für die touristische Erschließung von kulturellem Erbe (2016–2019)

Virtuelle Verbund-Systeme und Informations-Technologien für die touristische Erschließung von kulturellem Erbe (2016–2019)

ViSIT - virtuelles Museum für Passau und Kufstein

ViSIT - virtuelles Museum für Passau und Kufstein
ViSIT - virtuelles Museum für Passau und Kufstein
ViSIT - virtuelles Museum für Passau und Kufstein
Das im Progamm Interreg Bayern-Österreich 2014–2020 des EFRE geförderte Projekt ViSIT nutzt den digitalen Strukturwandel für die verstärkte Inwertsetzung kulturellen Erbes: Mit der Passauer Veste Oberhaus und der Festung Kufstein werden zwei Vertreter der Burgen und Residenzen des Inn-Salzach-Donau-Raumes durch multimediale Installationen und ein virtuelles Verbundsystem neu für Besucher erschlossen – weitere Standorte wie Golling, Salzburg, Tittmoning und Burghausen werden ebenfalls eingebunden.

Grenzüberschreitender Kulturraum Inn-Salzach-Donau

Das Projekt macht diese Burganlagen als Zeuginnen einer gemeinsamen, grenzübergreifenden Geschichte für Besucher/innen auf innovative Weise erlebbar und erschließt so allen Standorten neue Publikumskreise. Neben den baulichen Sehenswürdigkeiten werden die musealen Sammlungsbestände einbezogen, welche bedeutende Referenzsammlungen für den von Bayern, Österreich/Tirol und den Fürst(erz-)bistümern Salzburg u. Passau geprägten, kulturhistorisch zusammengehörigen Kulturraums sind. Die Museen arbeiten mit wissenschaftlichen Partnern aus Kulturwissenschaften und Informatik zusammen, um eine grenzübergreifende digitale Infrastruktur für innovative Kulturgutpräsentation und -sicherung zu schaffen.

Im Verbund den Kulturraum neu erlebbar machen

Der historische Observations-/Aussichtsturm der Veste Oberhaus und der Kaiser-/Fuchsturm der Festung Kufstein werden modellhaft zu multimedialen Erlebnisstätten ausgebaut: Besucher/innen (Einheimische wie Touristen) werden dabei standortübergreifende Informations- und Interaktionsmöglichkeiten auch zu anderen Burganlagen des Inn-Salzach-Donau-Raums geboten. So werden Besucher/innen verstärkt auf die anderen Burgen/Schlösser als attraktive Besuchsziele aufmerksam.

Virtuelles Museum und multimediale Erlebnisstätten

An den weiteren Standorten werden für die beteiligten Museen standortübergreifende Inhalte geschaffen, so dass ein Verbundsystem aufeinander bezogener Angebote als grenzüberschreitendes "Virtuelles Museum" entsteht. Übertragbare Software-Frameworks (Open Source) und "Best Practices" (digital publiziert) ermöglichen, den Verbund zukünftig zu erweitern.

Projektkonsortium

Museale Partner
  • Museum und Veste Oberhaus, Stadt Passau (D) 
  • Festung Kufstein, Top-City-Kufstein, Gesellschaft für Kultur-, Freizeit- und Stadtmarketing mbH, Kufstein (A) 




Projektleitung an der Universität Passau Prof. Dr. Malte Rehbein (Lehrstuhl für Digital Humanities)
Laufzeit 01.10.16 - 30.09.19
Mittelgeber
Logo des MittelgebersEuropäische Union (EU) > EU - Europäischer Struktur- und Investitionsfonds (ESI-Fonds) 2014-2020 > EU - Europäischer Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) 2014-2020 > EU - ESIF - EFRE - INTERREG Österreich-Bayern 2014-2020

Themenfelder Angewandte Mathematik, Angewandte Informatik, Kunst, Kunstwissenschaft, Geisteswissenschaften


zurück